About Us

ACEC’s geographic service area includes approximately 2,500 square miles in the central Wisconsin counties of: Adams, Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Green Lake, Jefferson, Marquette, Portage, Sauk, Waupaca, Waushara and Wood.

Adams-Columbia Electric Cooperative is a rural electric distribution cooperative serving approximately 31,560 members/owners in parts of 12 Central Wisconsin counties. As such, it is the largest rural electric cooperative in Wisconsin and the largest in Region Five of the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association.

Adams-Columbia was formed in 1987 following the successful merger between the former Adams-Marquette Electric Cooperative and the former Columbus Rural Electric Cooperative. In 1992, a second successful merger combined Adams-Columbia with the former Waushara County Electric Cooperative.

The cooperative’s service center is in Friendship, Wisconsin. ACEC also maintains operations facilities in Pardeeville and Wautoma. The organization is governed by a member-elected, 7-person board of directors.  

Check out the video below showing how power travels from a power plant all the way to the light switch in your home.